Rock on Rock The Latest Rock Music News & Charts

Released Apr 4, 2014 Released Apr 4, 2014

Whispers In The Shadow "Beyond The Cycles Of Time"

Rate this song/album
(0 votes)
+ 0
+ 0

2008, 2010, 2012, 2014. Whispers in the Shadow stay true to their own tradition and release with “BEYOND THE CYCLES OF TIME” the long-awaited last part of their epic four-album-cycle. The album has already made history in the WITS universe even before the recording began. The band managed to mobilize their faithful fan base so that the crowdfunding-campaign for the album on reached 100% in just five days.
The five Austrians have been an inherent part of the gothic scene since 1996 and are significantly involved in the conservation of the classic goth-rock. The characteristic WITS-sound has internationally established long ago and features flaring, partially somber guitars, which meet booming bass, fulminant drums and psychedelic keyboard. From the wall of sound arise together with the unmistakable voice of band-founder Ashley Dayour those picturesque images in the mind of the listeners, who finally understand the meaning of the lyrics.

With BEYOND THE CYCLES OF TIME Whispers in the Shadow have now reached the end of their journey, the circle closes. The increasing warmth and confidence of the musical cycle are destroyed by heavy cold and thus unusual clarity manifests. Frosty synth-sounds meet monotonous, static drumbeats, the groundbreaking sounds are fueled by cold ambient and post-punk. Solely Ashley Dayour’s voice gives some warmth and guides the listener through those decayed towns and lonely places, which the music compulsorily creates in the mind and are rediscovered in the elaborately designed booklet. And so Whispers in the Shadow succeed once more to astound the listeners and to cope with the high expectations at the same time. With unforeseen self-confidence and totally blunt they catapult themselves back into the chaos, as the cycle ends with the very sample with which everything began back in 2008: “No order only chaos!”                                                                                                                                                  


1.  Crossroads
2.  His Name Is Legion
3.  Left Hand Anthem
4.  The Sacrament
5.  Safe Sound
6.  Lilitu's Claws
7.  Incantation
8.  Agent Of Chaos
9.  The End Of Future
10. Adversarial Light
11. The Departure


  • Video

Read 636 times